Sunday, February 25, 2024

Is Advil Kosher For Passover

Must read

Are Kosher Foods Kosher For Passover

We tried CBD honey sourced from beehives in Staten Island

Many products that were produced and packaged in a chametz-free environment are labeled as kosher for Passover, meaning that they are OK for Jewish consumption on Passover.

What can and cant be eaten during Passover?

During Passover, the basic kosher guidelines apply, and there are also additional restrictions to what can be eaten. Here is a quick rundown of the basic kosher laws, which apply year-round to Jews who choose to keep kosher: Certain meats may not be eaten. Forbidden meats include : pork,

Is centra foods olive oil kosher for Passover?

Centra Foods Extra Virgin Olive Oil is certified Kosher for Passover and all other grades of olive oil and canola oil are certified Kosher for year-round use. What Does Kosher Mean?

Is Nyquil Kosher For Pesach

The following products do not contain any form of glycerin and can be assumed to be kosher: Dayquil and Nyquil Cold and Flu Liquid Medicine .

Why is ketchup not kosher for Passover?

One of the last jobs of cleaning the house for Passover is to get all chametz out of the kitchen. But only the most astute readers realize that the vinegar in their ketchup, the vitamins in the rice or milk, and the flavor in their favorite snack may in fact contain chametz.

Is ketchup kosher for Passover?

Kosher for Passover. Tomato Ketchup No Preservatives, No Artificial Flavors. Refrigerate After Opening To Maintain Freshness.

Does Over The Counter Need To Be Under Hashgacha

Rabbi Dovid Heber – Kashrus Administrator Star K

©1995 Kashrus Kurrents, Vol. XV, No. 3, Summer, 1995 Reprinted with permission.

It comes as no surprise that throughout the year, one of the most common questions asked on the Star-K Kashrus Hotline relates to the Kosher status of medicines, vitamins, and various cough and cold remedies. Most “standard” food inquires have standard answers. If the question is “Do cookies require a hechsher?”, the answer is a simple yes. When one asks, “Does club soda require a certification?”, the answer is no.

Kosher medication inquiries do not have such simple answers. When one looks into components of medicine and vitamins one discovers that they may, indeed, contain non-Kosher ingredients. Yet, the Star-K cannot simply say “medicines require a kosher certification” for two important reasons. First, Halacha often makes allowances for one who is ill. Hence, in certain instances one may be permitted to take a possibly non-Kosher medicine. Second, because many medications have a very unpleasant taste and are not fit for normal consumption, they may be permissible regardless of their non-Kosher content. Let us examine the facts to see how Halacha deals with these important Kashrus issues. Please note that in matters of Halacha one should follow the posek of one’s own Rav or Posek. The following guidelines are based on the posek of Rav Heinemann, shlita.

Don’t Miss: Can You Take Aleve When Pregnant

The Akc Gives Tips On What Is And What Is Not Kosher For Passover

Honey: Georgia Honey Farm and Blue Ridge Honey Company certified by the AKC are acceptable for Passover.

Tahini dip: The OU certified a special Passover production of Sonny & Joes Tahini Dip which is a kitniot product. These containers are labeled with an OU sticker that states approved for those who eat kitniot on Passover. Some of the Passover tahini dip containers were mistakenly labeled with a plain OUP without specifying that the product is kitniot. This is a kitniot product.

Creamer: Kroger Half & Half certified by the AKC is kosher for Passover.

Makeup: Beautycounter cosmetics are chometz-free and usable for Passover. For more information, please contact rebecca.cinnamon.green@gmail.com.

Wine: The OU certifies Bianco Azzuro Moscato Wine from Lishi Welner Wines in Israel. This product is labeled with a plain OU and it is not certified for Passover. Even the bottles that have the letters OUP as part of the production code are not certified for Passover.

Avocado oil: The AKC Quick Shopping Guide listed 100% Pure Avocado Oil as acceptable for Passover this is the case for one brand only: Chosen Foods. The brand name was inadvertently left off the Quick Shopping Guide.

Shank bone: Supermarkets sometimes give out non-kosher shank bones. Shank bones should only be used if they have proper kosher seals on the packaging.

Advil Cold & Sinus Liqui-Gels

Advil Film-Coated Tablets and Caplets

Choleh Sheyeish Bo Sakana: Someone Whose Life Is/may Be In Danger

Subscribe &  Save Deal

LHalacha, such a choleh may take anything if a substitute is not available.If someones life is in danger, or may be in danger, he must take any chometz medication unless an equally effective non-chometz medication is readily available. If an equally effective non-chometz medicine is available, lechatchila it should be taken. If necessary, one may also take chometz medication to prevent a possible sakana. This is true regardless of the form of the medication . Swallowable tablets or caplets are preferred if readily available. Individuals in a sakana situation should not switch medications and should continue with their regular prescriptions, whether or not they contain chometz, unless a doctor advises otherwise.This category includes:

  • Someone with an infection should take prescribed antibiotics. One should finish the course that is prescribed.
  • Someone severely ill with COVID-19.
  • Someone who has COVID-19 with moderate or severe symptoms of coronavirus and is either elderly, or has underlying medical conditions that cause an increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19 .
  • An elderly person with the flu.
  • A pregnant woman whose life is at risk or who is in active labor or in danger of having a miscarriage.
  • A woman who has given birth within the past seven days or who has postpartum complications that are or may become life-threatening. This may apply for an extended period of time greater than seven days, depending upon her condition.

Recommended Reading: Does Aleve Work For Fever

Compiling The Medicine List: How The Information Is Obtained And The Halachic Rationale

In order to compile the annual Medicine and Cosmetics lists, Rabbi Bess contacts the company and asks numerous questions. The information is updated anew every year and accepted only when submitted by the company in writing. Rav Moshe Feinstein, ztl, was of the opinion that one may rely on written information provided by a company . Additionally, a medicine can be added to the list if it contains only ingredients that are definitively chometz-free.

This system of review is implemented for this project only and would not be relied upon for products certified by STAR-K and other reliable hechsheirim. When a company is certified by STAR-K, detail-oriented reviews of ingredients, formulations and factories are conducted, and the halachic leniencies of compiling lists based on written responses are not relied upon. Nevertheless, with regard to approved medication, lHalacha, one may rely upon this information. As indicated in Igros Moshe, we consider the information on the list to be accurate.

Even if one suspects that a company provided inaccurate information , halachically, additional leniencies that one may rely upon often apply.

A full discussion of these leniencies is beyond the scope of this article but include:

KashrusKurrentsA Kashrus Guide to Medications, Vitamins, and Nutritional Supplements

Kosher Medicine Lists For Pesach And Year Round

Today, numerous lists of over the counter and prescription medicines are still published every year, claiming to state whether or not the various medicines contain any chometz or kitniyos, and their acceptability for Passover use. These lists of prescription medicines include many that are prescribed for serious conditions such as heart ailments, low blood sugar, etc.

Therefore, I would like to take another look at the preparation and use of these lists from two perspectives. First, how authentic and accurate are these lists? And, secondly, should they be publicized at all?

After the ingredients and formulas have been reviewed, rabbis regularly visit the facility to verify the accuracy of all the information we received. Even after all of the work and checking described above, a Rabbi will often note that the submitted ingredient list was incomplete.

Verifying ingredient lists does not pertain only to new companies seeking certification. The mashgiach who regularly inspects a facility must ensure that our ingredient lists are accurate, and that kosher ingredients are correctly warehoused. On occasion, unacceptable ingredients are brought into a facility constant vigilance is necessary to ensure that only approved ingredients ever reach the production floor. At one facility with thousands of ingredients, the mashgiach performs a daily inventory of newly arrived ingredients. Sometimes he has to reject incoming ingredients because they do not meet acceptable criteria.

You May Like: Is Aleve Better Than Ibuprofen

Kroger Passover Alert Publix Passover Alert Salad For Passover Passover Approved Medications For Children Jobs

Kroger Passover alert: The following products not bearing Passover certification were for a brief time mistakenly placed in the Passover refrigerated kosher dairy section at Kroger.

Classic Pesto Basil & Walnut Spread

Mahadrin Strawberry Leben

There are Kosher for Passover varieties of the above products, so check the labels to see if they are KFP or not.

Publix Passover Alert: Some non-kosher shank bones were inadvertently distributed from the Publix Toco Hills Kosher Deli between Monday March 19 and Wednesday March 21.

Salad: Some Publix brand salads are certified for Passover with an OVP

Some Dole brand salads are certified for Passover with an OKP

Partial list of Baby/Children Medications approved for Passover:

Advil Infants Drops Dye-Free White Grape

Advil Childrens Suspension all flavors

Benadryl Childrens Allergy Liquids Cherry, Dye-Free Bubble Gum, Allergy Plus Congestion

Benadryl Childrens Allergy Chewables

Motrin Infants Drops Berry, Dye-Free Berry

Motrin Childrens Suspension Berry, Dye-Free Berry, Bubble Gum, Grape

Tylenol Infants Oral Suspension Cherry, Dye-Free Cherry, Grape

Tylenol Childrens Suspension Bubblegum, Cherry, Dye-Free Cherry, Grape, Strawberry

Tylenol Childrens Pain + Fever Chewables Bubble Gum, Grape

Important: Do not discontinue use of liquid, chewable, or any other medication, without consulting with your doctor and rabbi.

A Kashrus Guide To Medications Vitamins And Nutritional Supplements

Global sales of pharmaceutical products are expected to reach 500 billion dollars annually.1 It is therefore no wonder that the interest in kosher certification and approval for these products has also skyrocketed. Ideally, one should purchase these products with kosher certification. However, this is not always practical. It is for this reason that one of the most frequently asked questions on the Star-K hotline relates to the kosher status of these remedies. In an effort to clarify the numerous issues regarding these popular products, the Star-K has prepared the following halachic guidelines based on the psak of Rabbi Moshe Heinemann, shlita, Rabbinic Administrator of Star-K Kosher Certification.2

Categories of IllnessesBefore determining whether a non-kosher product may be taken, one must first identify the category of illness. There are three categories of illness:

I. Choleh Sheyaish Bo Sakana Someone who is ill and whose life may be in danger. A choleh sheyaish bo sakana may use any non-kosher medication if an equally effective kosher medicine is not readily available. Included in this category is someone whose life is currently not in danger, but if untreated could develop a life threatening complication. This includes an elderly person who has the flu or an infant with a fever.

Additional examples include the following:

Types of Medications & RemediesThe following addresses the various halachos regarding specific products.

3. Shulchan Aruch YD 155:3.

Also Check: Ibuprofen Or Acetaminophen For Menstrual Cramps

Halachos Of Taking Medicine On Pesach

Reviewed March 2022

For many years, Rav Gershon Bess prepared a Guide for Pesach Medications and Cosmeticswhich was published and distributed by Kollel Los Angeles. A partnership with STAR-K and the Kollel to make this information more widely available to the general public is still going strong after more than a quarter century. The Medications and Cosmetics Guide, available in Jewish bookstores nationwide, serves as an invaluable resource for kosher consumers seeking to purchase these items for Yom Tov.

Sefer Kovetz Halachos states in the name of HaRav Shmuel Kamenetzky, shlita, that lechatchila one should take a medication approved for Pesach and mentions the availability and use of reliablePesach lists and guides .

The halachos pertaining to medication and cosmetic use on Pesach are based on the joint psak of Rabbi Moshe Heinemann, shlita, and Rav Gershon Bess, shlita.

THE MEDICINE LIST DOES NOT ADDRESS KITNIYOS or YEAR-ROUND KASHRUSExcept where indicated, the Medicine List does not address the kosher status of the product, ONLY its chometz-free status. Therefore, products appearing on the list may be both non-kosher and chometz-free. Also note that this brief article does not address the many halachos concerning taking medication on Shabbos and Yom Tov.1

Imporant Note From The Crc

  • All pill medication that one swallows is permitted. Vitamins and food supplements do not necessarily fall into this category , and each person should consult with their Rabbi.
  • Liquid and chewable medications that may contain chametz should only be used under the direction of a Doctor and Rabbi, who will judge the severity of the illness, the likelihood that the medicine contains chametz, and the possibility of substituting a swallowable pill. Important: Do not discontinue use of liquid, chewable or any other medicine without consulting with your Doctor and Rabbi.
  • Liquid and chewable medications that are chametz-free but contain kitniyos, may be consumed by someone who is ill. A healthy person, who would like to consume this type of medicine to merely relieve a minor discomfort, should only do so if the product is known to be free of both chametz and kitniyos.
  • You May Like: Are Ibuprofen And Aspirin The Same Thing

    Top 15 Questions From The Cor Passover Hotline

    COR is pleased to answer questions from kosher consumers throughout the year. This service is especially popular during the weeks leading up to Passover, as is evidenced by the over 10,000 questions answered last year prior to Passover.

    This COR Passover magazine can be used as a reference guide for much of the information that is needed during Passover. However, many questions do come up and we are here to answer them. To contact us, call the COR Passover Hotline at 635-9550 ext. 100 or email us at . You can also use our Text-A-Question service by texting your question to 402-1910 for yes/no questions.

    Here is a list of the more frequently asked questions from Passover 2021:

    1. Does Redpath and Lantic sugar require Kosher for Passover certification?Answer: NO. Redpath white sugar and Lantic white sugar are acceptable for Passover and do not require Passover certification.

    All varieties of Redpath brown sugar and all varieties of Lantic brown sugar are acceptable for Passover and do not require Passover certification.

    In general: other brands of brown sugar require Passover certification however, white sugar does not require Passover certification.

    3. Do lemon or lime juice products require KFP certification?Answer: YES. But ReaLemon, Lemon juice, and ReaLime Lime juice certified by the OU are acceptable for use on Passover even without KFP certification.

    5. Do sliced raw mushrooms need KFP certification?Answer: NO

    1. Ethyl Alcohol

    Choleh Sheein Bo Sakana: Someone Whose Life Is Not In Danger

    FREE Sample of Advil Film

    Such a choleh may not consume chometz in a normal manner but may eat kitniyos. This includes anyone who is bedridden, noticeably not functioning up to par due to pain or illness, or has a fever which is not potentially life-threatening.This category also includes:

    • Someone recovering from COVID-19 who is weak but no longer in a sakana state.
    • One who suffers from chronic debilitating arthritis pain.
    • One who suffers from migraine headaches or mild depression.
    • A pregnant woman suffering from non-life-threatening complications .
    • A woman who has given birth between 7 and 30 days prior to Yom Tov without any known problems or sakana, or who is experiencing non-life-threatening postpartum complications. This may apply for an extended period of time after 30 days.
    • A child under age six with any illness or discomfort.

    LHalacha, such a person may swallow any tablet, caplet or capsule that is manufactured with the intent for the consumer to swallow, regardless of whether or not it contains chometz .

    KEILIM NOTEProducts that contain kitniyos should be prepared on disposable or non-chometz utensils. Also, one should purchase new baby bottles for Pesach. These keilim should not be used with Kosher lPesach products, and the work area for preparation and rinsing should not be in the Kosher lPesach kitchen .

    Rabbi Bess research confirms which products are chometz-free, something often impossible for a ravor choleh to ascertain on his own.

    Read Also: Should Aspirin Be Taken Morning Or Night

    Is Cornstarch Ok For Passover

    Corn is considered Kitniyos , which according to the custom of the Sefardim poses no concern. And while Ashkenazic custom dictates that such starch may also not be eaten on Pesach, it may nevertheless be owned and used on Pesach even by Ashkenazim.

    Is zarbees kosher?

    Zarbees products are not certified kosher at this time.

    Are Advil liquid gels kosher?

    According to the Advil web site: Advil Caplets, Tablets, Gel Caplets, and Extra Strength Caplets contain stearic acid Advil Liqui-Gels and Extra Strength Liqui-Gels contain gelatin . This makes the product not kosher.

    All Food Needs A Kosher For Passover Certification But There Are Things That Do Not A Helpful List

    Pesach Shopping Halacha Hotline of the Five Towns

    Most of this is based upon information provided by the Star-K. You can obtain more information in their Passover Guide or their web site , and the OU .According to halakhah, most medications may be taken even if they contain chametz. Similarly, soaps, detergents, ointments & lotions are halakhically permissible even if they contain chametz. However, if possible, it is preferable to use products that contain no chametz. We generally included only the main or most popular brands do not assume that a brand that is not mentioned in this list is not acceptable.Products listed may be used without special Pesach certification unless noted otherwise.Alcohol: Any isopropyl alcohol for external use. Aluminum: All foil, disposable pans etc.Ammonia: All.Alka-Seltzer: Baby Formula: Similac, Enfamil & Isomil.Baby Powder: Any not listing oat flour as an ingredient. Baby Wipes: Any without alcohol .Baking Soda: All .Bleach: All.Chapstick: Orig., Classic Strawberry, Medicated, MoisturizerCharcoal Briquets: Any unflavored.Clay : may contain wheat & should be put away.

    Juices, Fresh: All fresh juices, even premium, need Pesach certification. Bottled: ReaLemon-ReaLime, .

    Orthodontic rubber bands: Rinse in cold water b/f Pesach.

    Play-Doh: contains chametz and should be sold.

    Polish: Furniture/Shoe all. Silver: Goddards, Hagerty, Weiman.

    Salt: non-iodized, without dextrose or polysorbates, .

    Scouring Pads/Sponges/Steelwool: Any without soap.

    Don’t Miss: Tylenol Mg Kg Pediatric Dosing

    More articles

    Popular Articles